Europe, are you ready? The illustration by Cristiana Couceiro on the cover of The Economist poses a simple yet crucial question to Europeans about their readiness to confront Russia

© Cristiana Couceiro / The Economist
After two years of Russia's aggressive war against Ukraine and Europeans' somewhat infantile attitude toward it, The Economist directly asks European countries if they are ready to confront Russia and Vladimir Putin, as Ukraine is doing today. In other words, the authors pose the question: Europe, are you ready for war?
The article in The Economist, released on the eve of the two-year anniversary of the full-scale war, discusses the increasing threat to Europe from Russia, the weakening support from the United States, and the unpreparedness of European countries for potential conflicts. The publication notes that Russia is increasing its military spending and becoming more aggressive, while support from the United States is diminishing due to uncertainty in the future American president's policies. The authors emphasize that Vladimir Putin is increasing military expenditures and, by waging war in Ukraine, is bolstering his military machine. This could allow him to confidently attack NATO countries in three to five years.
The cover of the publication accurately illustrates this situation, clearly suggesting that Putin, taking advantage of the lack of decisive action from the West and internal instability in Europe, intends to strengthen his positions and take further aggressive actions.
Is Europe ready for war?
© Cristiana Couceiro / The Economist
The illustrator, Cristiana Couceiro, demonstrates outstanding skill in succinctly depicting complex political scenes. Her work is characterized by insightful commentary on contemporary global events and the ability to convey their essence in graphic form. In this piece, she instantly prompts reflection on the current geopolitical situation.

Европа, ты готова? Иллюстрация Кристианы Кусейру на обложке The Economist задает простой и важный вопрос европейцам об их готовности противостоять России

© Cristiana Couceiro / The Economist
После двух лет агрессивной войны России против Украины, и слегка инфантильного отношения к ней европейцев, The Economist напрямую спрашивает страны Европы готовы ли они противостоять России и Владимиру Путину, как это делает Украина сегодня. Другими словами, авторы задают вопрос: Европа, ты готова к войне?
Вышедшая накануне двухлетия полномасштабной войны статья в The Economist говорит о возрастающей для Европы угрозе со стороны России, ослаблению поддержки США и неподготовленности европейских стран к возможным конфликтам. Издание отмечает, что Россия увеличивает свои военные расходы и становится все более агрессивной, в то время как поддержка со стороны США ослабевает из-за неопределенности в политике будущего американского президента. Аторы подчеркивают, что Владимир Путин увеличивает расходы на армию и, ведя войну в Украине, раскручивает свою военную машину. Это может позволить ему уверенно атаковать страны НАТО через три–пять лет.
Точно эту ситуацию иллюстрирует обложка издания, явно намекающая на тот факт, что Путин, воспользовавшись отсутствием решительных шагов со стороны Запада и внутренней нестабильностью в Европе, намеревается укрепить свои позиции и предпринять дальнейшие агрессивные действия.
Готова ли Европа к войне?
© Cristiana Couceiro / The Economist
Автор иллюстрации, Кристиана Кусейру, проявляет выдающееся мастерство в емком отображении сложных политических сцен. Ее работа отличается проницательным взглядом на современные мировые события и умением передать их суть в графической форме. В данной работе она мгновенно заставляет задуматься о текущей геополитической обстановке.